top of page

Recipe: Wilted Lettuce



Despite the "blah" name, this recipe is anything but, in my opinion. My mom and I are both fans of anything acidic and L. has taken up the mantle for the 3rd generation; my mom used to make this dish for me when my dad was not home for dinner and I now make it for L. in exactly the same circumstances. It is a good recipe to use up lettuce that is on its way out but I do actually buy it specifically for the purposes of making this recipe. That is how much L. and I like it. Guests never expect cooked lettuce, let alone a delicious side dish that takes 5 minutes to prepare, so that is something to consider as well.

Recipe

2 heads of lettuce

4 pieces of bacon

1 tbsp red wine vinegar

1/8 cup water or chicken stock

Salt and pepper to taste

Wash the lettuce well and chop roughly. I tend to cut each head of lettuce into 4 or 5 pieces and then detangle everything into separate leaf pieces.

Place the bacon in a large saucepan and render out the fat over medium heat.

Add the chopped lettuce and the water or stock. Cook for a few minutes until the lettuce is wilted and the liquid has mostly evaporated.

Add the vinegar and salt and pepper to taste. Toss well so that the vinegar is well distributed.

Remove the bacon and serve at once, I tend to serve this with no-fuss fish recipes to amp up the flavor on the dinner plate, but this recipe also tastes good with grilled pork chops.


Comments


bottom of page