top of page

Bonus Recipe - Instant Fish Stock



A classic fish fumet is a pain in the neck to make but an incredibly useful item to have on hand when cooking. I appreciate the concept and efficiency of bouillon cubes or stock crystals but can't wrap my mind around the list of synthetic ingredients. I use the recipe below when I am making a soup with a fish component, as a base for miso soup, to enhance the flavor of a fish sauce or stew; the possibilities are endless. Mostly I just chuck some directly in whatever I am making but I have also been known to measure 1 tablespoon of this into a coffee filter along with some herb stalks and a bay leaf and tie the top up with kitchen twine in order to make a removable marine bouquet garni.

Recipe:

3 cups bonito flakes

3/4 cup dried shrimp

3 inch square piece of kombu

1/4 cup dried wakame

1 Tbsp salt

2 tsps onion powder

2 tsps dried thyme

1 tsp dried oregano

2 bay leaves

Blitz everything in a coffee grinder to make a fine powder.

Image borrowed from salon.com

コメント


bottom of page