top of page

This Week's Menu



This week was a busy one socially and all of my suggestions as to what to cook on a particular day - pasta Tuesday, soup Thursday, etc. - got moved around; delightfully so since I got to visit with lots of nice people and feed them what I thought they might like to eat or, in the case of one male friend, should eat (more vegetables than he does, though I threw in pasta so he couldn't complain).

Some people got nibbles as well as dinner because they brought delicious Champagne, others were handed a glass of wine as soon as they walked in the house and instantly pointed in the direction of the dining room table (just getting off a 12 hour flight gets sympathy in my house and instant service before jetlag kicks in), one friend brought dessert and I will love her forever! Plus, because the dinners were "grown-up" occasions, I got to create an ambiance for each dinner and set a pretty table, which I always enjoy. A fun week.

Next week L. and I will probably survive on leftovers and soup from the freezer. I feel that an off-duty week might be nice, even for me who loves her kitchen.

Monday [Friends here for dinner]

Red Wine Pasta Primi with Walnuts and Parsley *

Lamb Medallions with Za'atar and Garlic *

Baked Tomatoes Provençale *

Roasted Raddichio with Anchovy Bread Crumbs *

"Coupe Colonel" *

Tuesday [Had a little cooking break]

Mixed Green Salad

Chili Con Carne from the freezer

Wednesday [Friends here for dinner]

M̶e̶x̶i̶c̶a̶n̶ ̶S̶p̶i̶c̶e̶d̶ ̶P̶a̶r̶s̶n̶i̶p̶ ̶C̶h̶i̶p̶s̶ ̶f̶o̶r̶ ̶n̶i̶b̶b̶l̶e̶s̶ ̶w̶i̶t̶h̶ ̶d̶r̶i̶n̶k̶s̶

Replaced at the last minute with Adobo Chile-Pinto Bean Dip with Tortilla Chips *

Avocado and Citrus Salad with Jalapeno Vinaigrette *

Chicken Enchiladas with Homemade Salsa Verde *

My Friend 's Dessert

Thursday [Soup and Homemade Bread]

Flash Fried Baby Artichokes

Cream of Mushroom Soup

Homemade Whole Wheat Naan

Friday [Vegetarian]

Each man for himself AKA leftovers

Saturday [Out to dinner]

Hallelujah!

Sunday [Friends here for dinner]

Bacon Candy with Champagne *

Seared Hamachi Tuna with a Salad of Greens, Shaved Daikon, Herbs and Avocado, Ponzu Vinaigrette *

Salmon "Crumble" *

Roasted Carrots with Chestnuts and Carrot Top Pesto *

Oven Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Fish Sauce Vinaigrette *

"Coupe Colonel" (again)

Comments


bottom of page