top of page

Recipe: Chicken with Salmorejo Sauce



I came across the recipe that was the inspiration for this during a frenetic episode of recipe reading online. I enjoy reading about food and finding new and interesting recipes and love the fact that, a bit like when reading a score you can hear the music, I can taste the dish in my mind while reading the recipe. No extra calories!

My butcher had rabbit but I was not about to plunk down $57 for one night's dinner for 2. My next choice was bone-in chicken breast but he was out. Chicken tenders were on sale (which made me happy since I was still reaction to $57 sticker shock) but I knew I would have to adapt the recipe - tenders wouldn't be able to stand up to what the recipe was going to throw their way in terms of cooking time and flavor punch.

I really loved my final version and would definitely make it again, though I would serve it with peal couscous to soak up all the delicious sauce next time rather than buttered noodles. L. "took agin" both the smoked paprika in the sauce and the texture of the brined chicken so this may become a "company only" dish.

Recipe

The brine:

1⁄4 cup kosher salt, plus more

1⁄4 cup packed light brown sugar

1 tsp ground white pepper

1 whole dried chile

1 bay leaf

1 cup ice cold water

The sauce:

2 lbs chicken tenders (enough for dinner and a sandwich the next day) or 4 chicken breasts, bone-in is tastiest)

2 cloves garlic, crushed and peeled

1⁄4 cup white wine

1/4 cup chicken stock or water

2 tsps white wine vinegar

1tsp. pimentón (smoked Spanish paprika)

1⁄2 tsp. ground cumin

2 Tbsps butter

Heat all the brine ingredients except the water in a saucepan, just until the salt and sugar have melted. Allow to cool and then add the cold water. Submerge the chicken in the brine and refrigerate for about 8 hours. I left mine in a bit longer: I made the brine in the morning while making breakfast, chucked everything in the fridge before heading out for the day and took the chicken out right at dinner time.

When you are ready to cook your dish, drain off the brine. I was rushing and did not pat the chicken dry before cooking and it was fine - I just didn't salt the dish at all.

Put the butter and the garlic in a large frying pan and melt the butter over medium heat until it has turned a light brown. You need to stir this often and keep a vigilant eye out for burning. As soon as the butter has browned, add the cumin and the paprika and stir well to incorporate into the butter.

Add the chicken and brown on each side, a couple of minutes per side. Add the wine, stock and vinegar, lower the heat and cover the pan. Cook until the chicken is cooked through - just a couple of minutes for the tenders and anywhere for 15-30 minutes for the chicken breasts dependent on size.

Check for seasoning (as mentioned above I needed no extra salt due to the brining) and add a bit more stock if you find the sauce a bit too sour.

Recipe inspiration here.

bottom of page