top of page

Individual Lasagna Roll-Ups



Sometimes you want lasagna, but making a whole pan of the stuff as is usual just for oneself seems excessive and freezer real estate is too valuable to use for pasta leftovers which never taste the same when defrosted. I saw a photo of a lasagna roll-up in a magazine a few years ago and thought it was a brilliant idea. I am sure that the Internet is awash with roll-up recipes but this one is easy - and my own.

L. felt that, though he likes vegetables, the greens were a mistake here. I added them because I am quite obsessive about putting vegetables wherever I can but could see his point; removing them would certainly make for a more traditionally tasting lasagna even if visually it looked different than the norm.

I have made this recipe just for me and for L. and myself; you can adapt it to any number of people though I think that above 4 you might as well go ahead and make a traditional lasagna or try my Green Lasagna with Goat Cheese.

Contrary to my usual recipes, this is for 2 people

4 lasagna noodles (I use Barilla but for these you need proper noodles not the oven ready variety)

1/2 cup Bechamel

1 cup greens, finely chopped (I used Raibow chard but any greens or mixture of greens would be equally delicious unless you are L. or vegetable averse in general)

8 oz ground beef (about a cup)

1 clove garlic, finely chopped

1 tsp olive oil

1 cup marinara sauce, your favorite jarred is fine but homemade will make a difference

1/2 cup grated Parmesan

Salt to taste

Cook your lasagna noodles for one minute less than specified on the package. When done, drain and then place in a bowl of water until it is time for you to assemble your roll-ups.

Make the Bechamel according to the recipe linked above. When it is thick, add 1/4 cup of the Parmesan and stir to melt.

In a large frying pan over medium heat, cook the garlic in the oil. As soon as the garlic is fragrant, add the ground beef and cook, stirring occasionally until the beef is browned. Salt to taste. Add the greens and cook for a few more minutes until the greens are wilted. Check again for seasoning.

Drain as much oil and liquid as you can from the meat mixture. Working a tablespoon or so at a time, add the Bechamel to the meat mixture only until you have a thick filling that you will be able to spread. You may not need the entire 1/2 cup. Set aside to cool.

When ready to assemble the roll-ups, preheat the oven to 350.

Drain the noodles and lay them out on a board or clean counter. I find it easier to roll the noodles if I lay them out vertically and roll away from myself.

Pour 1/4 cup of the marinara sauce into oven-proof dish and spread along the bottom.

Spread 1/4 of the filling on each noodle and roll up, lifting the noodle a little as you go to keep the filling from falling out. If it does, just press it into the sides when you are done. As each rol-up is formed, place it - seam side down - in the oven proof dish.

Pour the remaining marinara sauce over the roll-ups and sprinkle equally with the remaining cheese.

Bake for 30-40 minutes until heated through and the cheese is melted.

bottom of page