top of page

This Week's Menu



L. and I are entertaining this Friday and, since I have more time on my hands than I have recently had (sigh, redundancy...), we are pulling out all the stops. I have been obsessing over Chef Jason Howard's instagram feed for months; I think his plating is magical, creative - pure genius. So, though my plates are never pretty enough and I have never cooked octopus before, I am attempting an adaptation of one of his dishes for the party in homage. Fingers crossed...Other than that it is weekly menu options as per usual.

What is not as per usual is the state of the Nation and the image above is my tiny commentary on the lunacy that is today's America. I thought that we were making strides in a lot of areas and now racism, discrimination and hate seem to be creeping out from under the slimy rock where they belong into acceptable every day American life. As my California friends say: "I can't even...!" But I can. And so can you. March, help strangers, stand up for what is right, donate. Have a voice for the common good.

But enough politics; lets eat. In fact, bring different people together around your table. Perhaps I am naive but maybe that's the first step in resolving our issues.

Anyway....

Sunday [Proper Family Meal]

Endive Salad with Walnuts and Walnut Oil Dressing

Poached Salmon

Potatoes Confit in Duck Fat

Green Beans

Monday [New Recipe]

Green Salad

and Oven Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Tuesday [Pasta]

Caesar Salad

Lasagna

Wednesday ["Ethnic" Food]

Salad of Mixed Greens with Carrot-Ginger Dressing

Pork Spring Rolls

Thursday [Soup and Homemade Bread]

Homemade Minestrone

Jumbo Parmesan Grissini

Friday [Dinner Party for Friends]

Beet Marinated Grilled Octopus with Clams and a Bouillabaisse Aioli;

Micro Pea Green Salad with Roasted Meyer Lemon Dressing and Bay Salt

Bulgar Wheat Pilaf wi​th Herbs, Pumpkin Seeds and Dried Fruit

Sauteed Spinach

Chocolate Pavlova Trifle with Raspberries

Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner]

BBQ Ribs

Stewed Southern Greens

Cornbread

bottom of page