top of page

Dinner Party


This turned out to be a good stab at a Fall themed dinner party; all the colors and flavors worked to that effect. Obviously, I had planned for the flavors to be seasonal and yummy but hadn't quite thought through the autumnal color palette; thank goodness for the green of the arugula to liven up all the beiges and browns.

A few notes on the food: I was very happy with my gougères and so apparently were my guests since they (the gougères not the guests) disappeared in minutes. The salad was good and unusual enough that I am already pondering a version with pomegranate arils for Thanksgiving. It is unfortunate that, try as I might, I have not been able to take an appetizing photo of the baked chicken thighs with tomatillo-nut sauce that I have now made twice. It is such a delicious dish that I really wish that I could do it justice and entice one of you to make it at home. As for the layered casserole, who can turn down cheese and polenta? However, I am not sure that the pumpkin contributed anything besides seasonal flavor. And homemade chocolate pudding is just one of those things that everyone seems to like so that was a success as well.

On to the next dinner...


Gougères (with drinks)


Arugula Salad with Pickled Persimmons, Walnuts and Walnut Oil Dressing


Baked Chicken Thighs with Nut-Tomatillo Sauce


Polenta, Butternut Squash and Gruyere Layered Casserole


Chocolate Pudding with Whipped Cream

bottom of page