top of page

Lunch on the Go



On my way back from Stamford this morning, I was irritably peckish so I headed to the Great Northern Food Hall in Grand Central Terminal. Claus Meyer, the co-owner of legendary Noma restaurant, opened a food hall devoted to Nordic food there last year.

I had a very fine sandwich indeed in celebration of National Sandwich Day, which should keep me full into at least tomorrow afternoon....Warm, thick slices of smoked brisket hacked into submission in front of me, sauerkraut, crispy onions, baby spinach and creamy mushroom mayonnaise on what is arguably the best bread in Manhattan. It was basically what every baby Reuben sandwich in the world wants to grow up to be.

And L. made out well too - I brought home a gigantic loaf of still warm rye bread for him. I know that he will have slice after slice of it when he gets home from school, slathered with either Nutella or Marmite, depending on his Friday mood.

bottom of page