top of page

This Week's Menu



I know it is still fall but tomorrow, when daylight saving time comes into play, will mark the start of winter in my mind. It always does. That is a concept that may be hard to justify this year though -- it is November 4, I live on the East Coast, and I am still sleeping with all of my windows wide-open. Since I already ranted about world hunger and waste last week over soup, I will spare you a diatribe about global warming. You're welcome...

I don't like how early it gets dark in the evenings during this period and will now only be allowed to sleep until 4:24 every morning instead of my usual 5:24. One of the cats has an internal clock that is eerily accurate (no 23 or 25 for the little darling) and decided about a year ago that that is the perfect time for the first meal of the day. I wish he could be persuaded to integrate "spring forward, fall back" into his routine. Unfortunately, since he is smart enough to have figured out that pretending to pee in my bed is the way to levitate me instantly out of it, he gets fed upon demand. For those who think I am a sucker, please note that I have tried many potential solutions to remedy this situation, from the basic to the extremely ingenious. Simple solutions like shutting him out of the bedroom resulted in his throwing his body weight against the door at intervals throughout the night, cleverly just as I was dozing off again, until I caved and let him in. He also (deliberately and maliciously in my opinion) figured out a way to make his 13 pound body sound like a SWAT team with a battering ram so there was no way I was going to wait that one out...I actually don't really mind early rising in the spring and summer; I have quiet time and coffee while watching the sunrise and reviewing the day ahead but in the cold and dark? Meh, not so much.

This week's meals are all over the map - the United Kingdom, Turkey, Italy, Portugal, India, not to mention Middle Eastern and Asian Influences. I didn't plan it this way, it just evolved from recipes and books that I have been reading; I think it is a combination of my urgent need to travel somewhere - anywhere - soon and the fact that so many of my friends are relocating to points across the globe and I am very jealous. Or it could just be that, because I am budgeting and weekend lunch takeout has been eliminated for the foreseeable future, I am missing the usual intake of ethnic fare that L. and I used to order; one of the joys of living in Manhattan.

Sunday [ "Proper" Family Meal]

Pea Leaf Salad

Kale and Dandelion Green Stuffed Flank Steak with British Green Sauce

Eggpant Bulgar Wheat Pilaf

Monday [New Recipe]

Baby Arugula Salad with Grain Mustard and Fig Vinaigrette

Cheat's Saffron Risotto with Shrimp and Peas


Tuesday [Pasta]

Mushroom "Caesar" (Caesar Salad with Polenta Crusted Mushrooms Instead of Croutons)

Homemade Burnt Flour Handkerchief Pasta with Braised Fall Greens

and Turkish Yogurt and Brown Butter Tomato Sauce

Wednesday ["Ethnic" Food]

Chestnut and Cabbage Salad (Salada de Couve Roxa com Castanhas)

Portuguese Salt Cod and Potato Casserole (Bacalhau a Gomes de Sa)

Thursday [Soup and Homemade Bread]

Fridge-Clearer Vegetable Soup With Toasted Couscous

Harvest Bread (a trial run for potential inclusion in the Thanksgiving menu)

Friday [Vegetarian]

OUT

Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner]

Mixed Salad

Crispy Miso Chicken Wings

Oven Fries

bottom of page