top of page

This Week's Menu



I have been in a really bad mood recently now that the holidays are over and I am job hunting seriously again and I think that reflected in my cooking - nothing tasted how I wanted it to last week, I burned the short ribs in my borscht, the bread I attempted to make collapsed...a particularly low point from a culinary point of view.

Hopefully this week, now that I am back to my job-search schedule and networking madly again, my cooking will go back to being its usual cathartic presence in my life, with one little change - to my template. Wednesday will no longer be the day where I attempt to recreate ethnic food but will become L.'s choice. We'll see where that takes us. A lot of takeout probably...haha.

That being said, after a visit to our local Japanese grocery store after seeing the freshest, most delicious looking mackerel (his favorite), L. offered to make dinner this Sunday. I am looking forward to being cooked for.

It will otherwise be a very "rooty" week as we have reached the point of the winter where root vegetables and cabbage abound but not much else besides the ubiquitous grocery store zucchini. That being said, I do think I have come up with some interesting ways to serve all of these.

Sunday [ "Proper" Family Meal]

L. is making a surprise dinner

Monday [New Recipe]

Shaved Zucchini, Mint and Feta Salad

Arctic Char with Anchovies, Cream and Rosemary

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Tuesday [Pasta]

Mixed Salad

Pasta a la Norma

Wednesday [L.'s choice]

Ramen with Homemade Char Siu Pork

Thursday [Soup and Homemade Bread]

One Pot Roast Lemon Chicken with Winter Vegetables

Friday [Vegetarian Dinner with Friends]

Root Vegetable Nachos

Roasted Romaine Wedges with Feta, Sun Dried Tomatoes and Capers

Carrot and Daikon "Osso Bucco"

Japanese Sweet Potato Buttermilk Mash

Strawberries in Spiced Red Wine

Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner]

OUT

bottom of page