top of page

This Week's Menu



February has come in cold and gray; I am done with both winter and unemployment. It is starting to feel like neither will ever come to an end.

Since I am completely down in the doldrums these days, as the state of my house will probably attest, I hope to make up for it by extra creativity in the kitchen this week. I will be attempting some new recipes that have been percolating for a while. Some will work, some will not. I think I have an idea already which will be which...Stay tuned.

P.S. I was sort of right about last week's lentil and beet burger, which I was not sure about. I thought it could go either way taste-wise. What I hadn't bargained on was L. putting his foot down and refusing to have anything to do with it. "Nobody ever wants a vegetarian burger and if you make it I am not trying it" I was told in no uncertain terms. Since that never happens (L. will taste everything), I cracked under pressure and ordered take-out.

Shhhh. Don't tell anyone about the take-out. My reputation as a devoted home cook is clearly on the line here.

Sunday [ "Proper" Family Meal]

Bitter Green Salad with L.'s Vinaigrette

Raclette

Monday [New Recipe]

Beet Salad with Double Sesame Dressing

"Dolma" Casserole

Tuesday [Pasta]

Salt Cod Balls, Eggplant "Dengaku" and Broad Noodles

in a Spicy Fish and Asian Vegetable Broth

(also known as an inventive kitchen clear-out)

Wednesday [L.'s choice]

Baby Kale Salad with Crispy Chickpeas and Sumac

Oven Braised Chicken with Winter Greens, Shallots and Vinegar

Homemade Bread

Thursday [Soup and Homemade Bread]

Out

Friday [Vegetarian but not this week]

Short Rib Tacos with all the Fixings

Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner]

Baked Chicken on XL Buttermilk Biscuits with Jalapeno and Bourbon BBQ Sauce

Shallow Fried "Tempura" Green Beans

bottom of page