top of page

This Week's Menu



L. has announced that he is making dinner again this Sunday. While I am glad that his new enthusiasm for cooking continues, I would very much like the concept of "walking before running" to get across and look forward to (hopefully) teaching him the basics that all home cooks need to master, like a proper roast chicken or a perfect omelette.

For my part, I have not cooked much with squid in the past but, considering my recent success with octopus and the price of squid, am giving it a try this week. I hope that this recipe for a long braise will ensure that it does not taste like rubber. Despite my being single, and despite my not liking Valentine's Day even when I wasn't, I still felt the need to mark the day so L. and I will be eating pink pasta (pasta twice in one week - oh horrors), beef tartare with slightly too cutesy a name and attempting a rather odd ice cream which I stumbled upon online and found intriguing. Other that that, artichokes looked gorgeous at the market recently so we will be over stuffing those on Friday.

Enjoy your week in food.

Sunday [ "Proper" Family Meal or an L. special]

L.’s dinner again – to be announced, apparently

Monday [New Recipe]

Butter Lettuce Salad with Mint Dressing

White Wine Braised Calamari with Root Vegetables

Cumin-Orange Roasted Cherry Tomatoes with Couscous

Tuesday [Pasta]

Baby Gem Salad with Buttermilk Dressing and Bacon

Fazzoletti (Handkerchief Pasta) with Goat’s Milk Ricotta

Wilted Baby Arugula and Sauteed Mushrooms

Wednesday [L.'s choice but this week Valentine’s Day Menu]

Heart “Beef” (Hand Chopped Beef Tartare) with Bitter Greens

Pasta with Roasted Beet Sauce and Thyme

Preserved Lemon-Olive Oil Ice Cream

Thursday [Something with Homemade Bread]

Crunchy Cabbage Salad with Carrot-Ginger Dressing

Chicken Tikka Masala

Griddled Flatbreads

Friday [Vegetarian (ish, this week)]

Shrimp Cocktail with Baby Artichokes and Marie Rose Sauce

Italian Stuffed Artichokes with Parmesan Drawn Butter

Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner]

Out

bottom of page