top of page

Bonus Recipe: Velvet Triangle



I have a HUGE crush on Velvet Falernum at the moment. I like the old-fashioned name, I like the smoothness and flavor it imparts to cocktails and I like the fact that pretty much no one has ever heard of it until I tell them about it.

It is a sweet liqueur, originally from Barbados, with hints of almond, ginger and clove. Recently I have been using it in cocktails instead of simple syrup as it boosts the taste. I highly recommend it for your drinks cabinet if you are a cocktail creator.

Having brought rum back from Bermuda at Christmas, this simple cocktail was a given. Though I recently mixed up a jug on the spur of the moment for friends, and they very much enjoyed the drink, I do think this cocktail would taste even better served in the summer (where long drinks of a refreshing nature come in handy when entertaining). I thought this was a stellar, complex tasting drink.

This recipe is for one drink, which needs to be served in a tall glass with lots of ice to taste its best; multiply the amounts as needed. I have given alcohol measurements in parts, rather than ounces or jiggers, because one person's weak or strong drink is another one's absolutely perfect one and who am I to judge your pour.

Velvet Triangle is a rather twee take on both my new favorite liqueur and the Bermudian origin of the rum used to mix this concoction. Happy to change it if you make the cocktail yourself and are inspired to come up with a better name. Let me know.

1 lime, well washed

4 sprigs of mint

1 part Velvet Falernum

2 parts dark rum

a couple drops orange bitters

tonic water

Ice cubes

Roll the lime back and forth along your counter, pressing down with the palm of your hand as you do to release the juice. Cut the lime into quarters. Place 3 of them in a shaker, along with 3 sprigs of the mint. Muddle well.

Add ice cubes, the Velvet Falernum and the rum and shake well.

Decant into an ice filled tall glass. Shake in a couple drops of orange bitters and top the glass up with tonic water. Stir once. Garnish with the remaining lime and mint.

I haven't tried it yet but I bet that substituting Champagne for the tonic water would make for an excellent drink as well.

bottom of page