top of page

Bonus Recipe: Flavored Simple Syrups



Flavored simple syrups are a really useful tool to have on hand and incredibly easy to make. They are really versatile and I find myself reaching for them often to add some "oomph" to basic recipes. They are also a good way to repurpose herbs if you have bought too much to use before they wilt.


I usually have a couple of bottles in the fridge. These syrups are great at adding herbaceous back notes to cocktails. They will amp up flavor in your favorite desserts, from flans to cakes. I toss cut fruit with a little bit of it - basil simple syrup is excellent with grapefruit segments and lemon verbena syrup works really well with blueberries, for example. Sometimes I use flavored syrup in lieu of sugar when making lemonade or add a teaspoon to a glass of sparkling water to alleviate boredom as I try to incorporate drinking more water into my routine.


I tend to make one cup of plain simple syrup at a time and flavor a half cup each of it two ways. This allows me to mix and match and change flavors easily. There is nothing worse than having made a vat of something and then being stuck with that one note for a long time. Last week, as shown above, I made rosemary and lavender simple syrups, which actually work well together. This week I plan to make shiso (perilla) syrup. Next week, who knows...I am actually thinking of infusing tarragon and peppercorn together, which I think would be nice. I have some sliced peaches left in the freezer from last summer, maybe those three flavors would marry well in a pie.


The base recipe is really simple. Heat equal amounts sugar and water in a pan over low heat (in my case a cup of each). As soon as the sugar has completely melted and the liquid is hot, pour it over your herbs which you have placed in jars or bottles or even bowls. I placed 3 sprigs of rosemary in one bottle and 4 sprigs of lavender in another and poured 1/2 cup each of hot syrup over them.


Wait 10 minutes and then taste the syrup to see if the flavor is strong enough for your taste. The rosemary and lavender both took 15 minutes until they got where I wanted them to be. As soon as they taste good to you, remove the herbs from the sugar and start to enjoy. Keep them in the fridge and reach for them often.


Let me know if you make some and use it in an inventive way.


bottom of page