top of page

Yuzu-Kosho Aquafaba Aioli



I always hate throwing anything food related away, and I have been reading a great deal about aquafaba recently, so this recipe seemed timely. For those of you not in the know, aquafaba is the thick liquid that comes in cans of beans. I usually just drain it off and throw it away but vegan cooks and experimental chefs have recently discovered it as the new, trendy ingredient.

I tried some in a vegan meringue recipe and thought of wallpaper paste but decided to be generous, to say that it was my failing the recipe rather than the recipe failing me, and to try again with this miracle liquid but in some other incarnation.

The inspiration recipe below is for a mayonnaise but I wanted something slightly thinner that I could pour over fish so, yet again, am posting my adaptation thereof. It tasted just fine, pretty good actually, and is certainly a recipe that I will keep on hand for vegan friends and those allergic to eggs. L. liked it a lot. There is no photo in the world that can do white sauce justice.

Makes about 3/4 cup of aioli.

1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

3 Tbsps brine from can of chickpeas

12 whole chickpeas

1 tsp yuzu-kosho

1/2 cup vegetable oil

Using an immersion blender. blitz the first 4 ingredients together to form a smooth paste.

Slowly trickle in the olive oil, while continuing to use the immersion blender at full speed.

The liquid will emulsify and turn into a thick, frothy sauce.

Tastes great on cold poached salmon and would be excellent as a sauce for a salad containing chickpeas in some capacity,

Inspiration recipe, here.

bottom of page