top of page

Good Friday



I apologize to all my Catholic friends but in view of the date it was impossible not for me to name my cocktail this despite knowing full well that it was inappropriate.

Though this is an "Easter" cocktail, i actually think that it was probably inspired by the cherry blossom viewing times of my youth in Japan - the color is spot on. And the Bourbon marinated cherries certainly help with the visuals!!

This is the recipe for one cocktail and, as I always specify, measures are subjective.

1 measure vodka

1 measure white Lillet

5 marinated cherries (you can buy these at the liquor store; I use Woodford Reserve bourbon cherries)

2 small sprigs of rosemary

Tonic

Put 1 sprig of rosemary and 3 marinated cherries in your shaker and muddle well.

Add crushed ice, the vodka and the Lillet and shake well.

Pour into an ice filled low ball glass, top with tonic and garnish with the remaining cherries and rosemary.

Voil.à Spring.

bottom of page