top of page

Saumon A L”Oseille (Salmon with Sorrel)



A French classic, I ate this a lot when I lived in France. My mother remembers it vividly from her visits to France as well. So why is this really easy and delicious dish not in the American repertoire? I think that it is probably because sorrel is sold cheaply in huge bunches in France whereas - In New York City at least - the rate for 3 little leaves of it is extortionate.

I suggest you resolve this by growing your own. We have only had our plant for a few weeks and it is already taking over its pot and putting out a whole new batch of green leaves. I think it will be appearing in my recipes and salads often in the weeks to come...

I was rushing to get to this while it was still hot so did not do justice to L.'s presentation on the meal on the new slate plates that he got for his birthday. Mea culpa.

4 salmon fillets

10 large sorrel leaves, central vein and stem removed

1 shallot finely diced

2 Tbsps butter

2 Tbsps white wine

1/2 cup creme fraiche or sour cream

Salt and pepper to taste

Melt the butter in a skillet. As soon as it is completely melted, turn the heat to very low and add the shallots and the wine. Allow to cook for a minute or 2 until the shallot is translucent and soft. Add the sorrel to the shallot and butter mixture and stir through until wilted.

Salt and pepper the salmon fillets well and place in a microwave safe dish. Cover and place in the microwave for 3 to 5 minutes to cook. My suggestion is to microwave in one minute bursts and check for doneness so as not to overcook the fish.

While the fish is cooking, add the sour cream to the shallot-sorrel sauce and allow to melt, still over very low heat, stirring from time to time. As soon as the cream is heated through you can pour some of it over your salmon fillets and serve.

It is traditional to serve this with rice but I went with sweet potato chips and asparagus.

bottom of page