top of page

Post Dinner Treat



Mostly L. and I do without dessert after dinner. To begin with I am not a good dessert maker. I also feel that L. and I get enough sugar here and there any way - post school snacks, sodas, etc.

Some evenings though, you just get a desire for something sweet and this evening L. and I both got a hankering for a root beer float. Luckily we have a grocery store right across the street from us for emergencies so, while I found our glass straws and got out the glasses, L. bought ice cream and soda.

After that it was easy peasy - premium vanilla ice cream to the top of the glass, root beer slowly poured over that, weird chemical reaction for an end reaction all fizz and cream...

This certainly hit the spot, and I got the idea for a grown up version (that I will work on). I drank mine, looking out the kitchen window at the building that went up this year and now blocks my river view but manages to look quite spectacular at night.

bottom of page