top of page

Temple Lunch



While I found California very beautiful, I had an issue with a lot of the stereotypes that turned out to be realities, especially the whole new age industry. I did get on board with kale smoothies though the phrase "my body is a temple" that usually accompanied it always felt slightly cringy in that context.

Sometimes you want the effects of a green juice, with a little more substance for your temple. On those occasions I tend to make myself lunch out of a whole mess of greens, stir-fried in the tiniest bit of oil and splashed with something acidic to brighten the dish at the end.

Above is today's bunch of red chard, stems and greens with a spritz of rice wine vinegar. Delicious.

This also means that I can eat my mother's tonkatsu dinner tonight with not an atom of guilt.

bottom of page