top of page

Balcony Garden Doing Well #2



It is amazing how much you can grow in a small space if you want to. I have curtailed our options to herbs and minimal fruit/veggies but, were we proper gardeners and planned and planted accordingly, L. and I could probably keep ourselves in fruit and veggies over the spring and summer at least with some canning action taking us into the winter as well. Something to think about in terms of sustainability and food politics. Also, it's fun.

Though the mint has developed a fungus which I am treating and the cucumber is unfortunately getting too much sun though it is chugging along bravely, everything else is coming along brilliantly and our little balcony is presently all different shades of abundant and vibrant green.


Our strawberries have gone from just roots to proper plants


Some have even decided to get us excited about potential berries


The lemon balm, purple sage and silver thyme are trying to escape into Manhattan


I am thinking of drying some of the abundance of sage for the Thanksgiving turkey


Tomatoes and sorrel and chives, oh my!


The apple mint is growing weedlike despite its health issues


I have been using fennel fronds in everything I can

(looking forward to harvesting my bulb in August)


Our cute cuke flowers


And last but not least, my balcony Buddha. Isn't he a happy fellow?

bottom of page