top of page

Breakfast Sausage Patties



Growing up, my mother had a friend who would make sausage patties when we had breakfast at her house. We have since lost touch, but the memory of those sausage patties remain - I have yet to eat ones that even begin to compare.

I have been experimenting for years and this is as close as I have been able to come. If I say so myself, these are pretty damn good and a actually a pretty close second to those I can still taste many years later. I made these a few weeks ago and they were so tasty that I whipped them up again for brunch with scrambled eggs.

This recipe makes 12 small patties, they are easy to whip up for breakfast or brunch and they freeze well. if you choose to double the recipe.

1 lb best ground pork

1 tsp dried sage

1 tsp dried thyme

1 tsp fennel seeds, roughly crushed

1 tsp red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp white pepper

1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika

1 1/2 tsps salt

1 clove garlic, peeled and crushed

2 tsps olive oil

1 Tbsp ice water

Put the olive oil and the garlic clove in a large skillet. Set aside to infuse while you prepare the sausage mixture.

Measure all the spices into a large bowl. Mix quickly to combine.

Add the ground pork and the ice water. Combine well with the spices. I find that using my hand is the best way to get a homogenized mixture.

Form the mixture into 12 equal sized balls.

Heat the oil and the garlic clove until the oil is sizzling; medium heat works best. Add the meatballs, making sure that you don't crowd the pan. Press down on each meatball to turn them into patties.

Cook for 2 minutes on each side, pressing down to flatten the meatballs into thick patties.

Drain on a paper towel lined plate and enjoy with eggs, pancakes or your favorite breakfast.

bottom of page