top of page

Bonus Recipe: Summer Empty Nest



I think it is obvious why I christened the drink as I did; it does seem like a fitting name at this particular point in my life. This is a nice summer drink, fresh and light, citrusy with slight herbaceous notes from the thyme and a bit of bitterness from the Cocchi Americano. I filled the rest of my glass with tonic to make it a refreshing drink but you could omit the tonic, chill a martini glass and drink it straight up as well.

This recipe makes 1 cocktail.

1 measure vodka (I find that people's idea of a measure varies so please just mix proportionately)

1/2 measure Cocchi Americano (or white Lillet)

3 drops orange blossom water

Couple dashes orange bitters or Angostura bitters

Juice from 1 lemon

1 large sprig of thyme

Twist of lemon

Tonic water

Ice cubes (I happened to have made ice cubes will edible flowers in them, left over from a dinner party that I did not want to waste; regular are fine)

Muddle the thyme in a shaker, along with the lemon juice.

Add ice cubes, the vodka, Cocchi Americano, orange blossom water and bitters and shake well.

Pour into an ice filled glass and top up with tonic water. Squeeze a lemon twist and add to the drink.

Repeat as needed. And by this I mean by the number of people for whom you are making these, not for a bacchanalia for one!

And, again, without tonic it is also very quaffable.


bottom of page