top of page

Farmers' Market Find



A few months ago L. mentioned that he had seen a tiny cucumber online that looked really interesting and that he would like me to find him some that he could flash pickle. I brought him small cucumbers but they were not what he was looking for, This morning at the Farmer's Market, I moved out of the way to let someone go by, looked down and there was a huge box full of the tiniest cucumbers you can imagine, about the length of my thumbnail. They looked like tiny, little watermelons.

We bought a bunch of these home and, though they are intended for the pickle jar, gave been eating them as is ever since we brought them home. They have a nice crunch and a faint taste of lemon. Apparently they are called Mexican sour gherkins or cucamelons.

I look forward to seeing what the kid does with then (shoukd there be any left post snacking).

bottom of page