top of page

Bonus Recipe: Strawberry Smoothie



What I really craved for an afternoon snack was a thick milkshake of homemade strawberry ice cream. I could see it in my mind's eye as the perfect antidote for the 104 degree air coming in through my window screens. (I do have air conditioning but with 2 cat inhabitants, I very rarely use it as part of feline odor control; I have a VERY sensitive nose).

Since my scale is now rapidly heading in the "ooops" zone, I made the following smoothie instead. It was thick and sweet and, while lacking the fatty mouth feel of ice cream, still managed to hit the spot.

This makes 2 smoothies.

1 pint ripe strawberries, washed and hulled, taken straight from the fridge so as to be cold

1 5 oz container plain yogurt (I use full fat because I don't understand the other stuff)

Squeeze of lemon juice

Pinch of salt

Place all of the ingredients in a large glass and whiz with an immersion blender until smooth.

Taste and add sugar if needed, stir to combine. You can also add a little milk if the smoothie is too thick for you as consistency very much depends on the juiciness of the fruit.

You can omit the salt if you are watching your sodium intake. I just feel that it, and teh lemon juice, somehow intensifies the strawberry flavor in the drink.

bottom of page