top of page

It's The Little Things In Life



I struggle with making lunch for myself though I was the queen of the packed lunch when L. was little. Actual food seems like too much, effort and calories, especially in view of the type of dinners we eat. A piece of fruit, a salad or a container of yogurt leave me vulnerable to eating my weight in snacks around 4. Soup is always an option but, with limited freezer space, it is hard for me to keep as much as I would like to hand and making homemade soup for one seems - even for me - a bit much. Sandwiches and abstinence therefore figure fairly heavily in the rotation.

Today I was headed in the direction of a basic ham and cheese on rye, pickle on the side, when I paused for a second and considered the fact that I should really prepare food for myself with the same intent of good flavor and lovely presentation as when serving others. It only took an additional 5 minutes and a tiny bit of chopping (and I now had a bowl to wash) but my boring sandwich was turned into ham salad brioche bun sliders topped with baby amaranth.

I am not much of a makeup wearer but l'Oreal has a point and, yes, I am worth it. As are all people who live and eat alone. Now, go make yourself something nice to eat and make it pretty too.

bottom of page