top of page

Still Life: Farmers' Market Bouquets with Cat



I am just back from a visit to the Farmers' Market down the street with my mom with what I consider an exciting haul. The no pesticide farmer had amazing produce this week

I indulged in some beautiful zucchini blossoms which, L. being off from school today, I will turn into fritters for a celebratory aperitivo hour tonight.

I also bought some lavender. I will freeze half and dry the rest in the microwave to have on hand over the winter. It will delicately flavor desserts, cocktails and various other dishes. I have plans for it next week with lentils, beets and mustard. Stay tuned.

I also bought a punnet of myoga (not pictured), ginger's kissing cousin. I will pickle some and need to think of what to do with the rest but I am thinking pork would definitely be the way to go.

Last but not least, in the spirit of discovery, I bought a huge bunch of sweet potato greens. I have never seen them before, and certainly never eaten them, so will substitute them for the collard greens I have planned for tomorrow night's dinner. I just thought that they were beautiful and a gorgeous green. One of the cats obviously found them just as intriguing as I did.

bottom of page