top of page

Bonus Recipe: Inari Zushi



These are usually made by filling little pouches of seasoned deep fried tofu skin with plain sushi rice but I chose to mix the rice with gobo (pickled burdock) and takuan (daikon pickle) because I thought it would be interesting and because I was cleaning out my fridge and was tired of looking at them. And it worked and they were nice autumn colors for the beginning of the season.

I always, quite rudely, refer to this dish as peasant sushi when describing it to others. It is definitely of the sushi genus but usually only available in corner stores and supermarkets, not upmarket sushi restaurants. I think that the word I am probably looking for is rustic.

They are what the Brits refer to as a doddle to make, especially because any Asian supermarket will have the pre-seasoned skins available for sale either canned or in the frozen section. All you have to do is make rice, season it sushi rice style and voilà, weekend lunch.

bottom of page