top of page

Icebox Cake



My mom served this at her lady's lunch and it was delicious and quite pretty too. It is simple to assemble, a perfect warm day dessert as there is no cooking involved and exceedingly rich. There are a myriad of recipes online and my mother went the traditional route of chocolate cookies sandwiched between rich cream to which - credit where credit is due - I had added a substantial amount of rum.

I am pondering a variation - lemon and ginger cookies, sandwiched together with lemon curd and covered with gingered whipped cream sounds really good to me. And what about a savory version for a first course? Crackers of some kind, sandwiched together with salmon rillettes and covered with a mascarpone cream full of chopped herbs and lemon...I think I may be on to something.

Stay tuned.


bottom of page