top of page

Roasted Crispy Potatoes



I love crispy potatoes but have found that they are much harder to get right than one would expect. Ideally the end result is creamy in the center and crispy on the outside but one often ends up with one or the other, rarely both. For some reason, microwaving and partially cooking them first as per the inspiration recipe below did the trick, something that parboiling in water first never has for me. Based on the condensation in my microwave, I am assuming that this had something to do with removing moisture from the potatoes prior to crisping them up but, since I am no Harold McGee, this is pure supposition on my part.

These were so good that, as illustrated above, the cook (me) had to taste one before these even made it to the table.

1 lb small potatoes (I used micro ones because I wanted tiny, one-bite crispy potatoes but any small potato type is fine)

2 Tbsps duck fat or olive oil

Salt

Preheat oven to 400.

While the oven is preheating, microwave your potatoes which you have first pricked several times all over with a fork. Microwave time will depend on the size of your potatoes - I microwaved mine for 2, the original recipe calls for 4.

Remove the potatoes to a foil lined baking tray. Be prepared for there to be a lot of condensation in your microwave so have paper towels at the ready for clean-up.

Using the bottom of a glass, press down on each potato to crush it. Once all potatoes are crushed, brush each one with some of the oil and sprinkle with salt. Flip the potatoes and brush with oil and sprinkle with salt as well. If you have any remaining oil after doing this, drizzle it over the potatoes.

Place the baking tray in the oven and bake for 15 minutes. At that time, flip over the potatoes and cook for an additional 10-15 minutes until the potatoes are crispy.

Remove from the oven and adjust seasoning if necessary.


Inspiration recipe, here.

bottom of page