top of page

Roasted Asian Spice Brined Chicken



I was a bit skeptical about brining and so came late to the brining game. I was converted after brining a pork chop of all things and, as those of you who read my blog can attest, have been brining meat since. I have been thinking about Thanksgiving and how to make turkey in a different manner than I usually do - the Asian spiced brine from the inspiration recipe below seemed like it might be interesting.

I won't be using it this Thanksgiving but I will be making it again with chicken, or duck. The house smelled suspiciously like a KFC store as it cooked and taste like a gourmet version thereof so I think the recipe originator may be very close to the Colonel's secret formula.

3 lb whole chicken

1/2 cup mirin or sweet wine

1/3 cup coarse salt

5 whole coriander seeds

1 1/2 tsps Szechuan peppercorns

1 tsp whole black peppercorns

1 tsp whole black peppercorns

2 whole star anise

1 tsp. whole fennel seeds

1/4 cinnamon stick

1/3 cup boiling water + ice water as needed

Place all the spices in a mortar and roughly crush them (or put them in a plastic bag and crush with a rolling pin).

Tip them into a bowl or pan large enough to contain your chicken and add the salt.

Pour the boiling water over this mixture and stir until the salt has dissolved. Add enough cold water to reach half way up the sides of the bowl.

Place your chicken in the brine. I make sure that I immerse the chicken cavity side first so that the brine and spices enter the cavity and will flavor the chicken from within as well.

Add enough water so that the chicken is covered. Place in the fridge for 8-12 hours. I tend to do this in the morning while I make my coffee and then get it out an hour before I am ready to use it, around dinner time.

When ready to use, remove the chicken from the brine and pat dry, inside and out if at all possible. Roast as you normally do chicken which, in my case, means drizzled with oil and roasted for about 90 minutes in a 350 oven. You will not need additional salt and will end up with crispy skin and intensely juicy, flavorful meat.

Inspiration recipe, here.

bottom of page