top of page

Turkey Soup



As is my wont, I broke down the turkey carcass the day after Thanksgiving and made many pints of unsalted stock to be frozen for future use. Some went to my mom for her freezer, some went straight into mine and a few pints went into the fridge to be made into soup for today's lunch.

As I was assembling the ingredients to make it I realized that Stubbie hates carrots in soup, L. hates onions and I hate celery which didn't leave us much to work with for a traditional soup. Instead I made a roux and thickened the stock a bit as though I were making chowder, flung in all the turkey meat that I had left and a finely chopped bunch of kale for color and veggie points.

This is a delicious soup. Basically you are eating thinned out gravy. Stubbie and L. will never know because they went out for sushi instead.

bottom of page