top of page

Cherry Miso-Mustard



I served this with grilled pork chops and roasted parsnips as I thought it would prove a good counterpoint to both. I was right but I think that this may turn into a little powerhouse of a sauce with a lot more to offer than just a quick compound mustard to dollop on grilled meat. Next time I think I will spread it all over a duck before roasting it for an added flavor punch.

I used cherries because I had frozen some over the summer and wanted them out of the freezer but I think that roasted figs, plums or peached (depending on the season) would taste great as well.

Makes about 1/2 cup of flavored mustard.

1/2 cup pitted ripe cherries

2 Tbsps red miso

2 tsps maple syrup

1/2 cup grain mustard

Place the fruit, maple syrup and miso in a blender and blend until smooth.

Mix into the mustard and enjoy as is or, if serving with grilled meat, heat through with the meat pan juices before serving.


bottom of page