top of page

A Family Holiday Lunch


We were all in different places over Christmas, so my mother, sister, L. and I decided to get together and have a proper holiday lunch. Bubbles were involved and prezzies, and a good time seems to have been had by all. As usual during celebratory meals my photos do not live up to the cooking and, as you can see from item number one, some things were so delicious that we did not get a photo until we were done with the dish!


Corn Queso Dip with Tortilla Chips

I will post the recipe for this in the days to come because it was truly delicious and one of those dishes that can be put together in just a few minutes followed by a tour through the microwave, which is always a plus.


Crispy Prosciutto Cups Filled with Artichoke Salad, Cold Shrimp Marie Rose and Steamed Asparagus with Meyer Lemon Vinaigrette

L. decided that he would plate and his concept for this dish was rather different than mine. Still, you can't go wrong with anything that involves a dish that contains a crispy cup made of Prosciutto.


Scallops « au Poivre » with Wilted Arugula, Earl Grey Beurre Blanc

I need to work on this dish as neither the peppercorn nor Earl Grey flavors were prominent enough, but I think that my decision to substitute wilted wild arugula for the polenta I originally planned was perfect for a lunch in a holiday season where a lot has already been consumed.


Swedish Brownie Cake

with Orange Rum Macerated Cherries and Tarragon Whipped Cream

As those of you who read this blog already know, I am a disaster with desserts and this brownie cake was no different. The cherries were excellent though and may make an appearance again at some point as a topping for ice cream. More plating by Monsieur L.

bottom of page