top of page

Birthday Bash (Recap)



Just as a reminder, here is what I made for my sister's big birthday bash, with HUGE kudos to L. for spending copious amounts of time creating doznes of skewers from the base ingredients and being a cheerful general chopper, cleaner and kitchen commis.


Ground Chicken and Millet Tsukune Meatball Skewers

Chicken Thigh and Scallion Yakitori Skewers

Grilled Okra Skewers with Sea Salt, Yuzu Kosho Oil and Lemon

Roasted Asparagus with Garlic Chives and Umeboshi Dressing

Cabbage Salad with Edamame, Grated Carrots and Carrot-Ginger Dressing



While the presentation of the food was not gorgeous, due to the constraints placed upon me by making dishes for a BBQ bash for 50 people on a very hot day while not wanting dishes to clean at the end. L. was more interested in enjoying the party than taking lovely photos, but despite our institutional looking containers and graint images, there were some stellar dishes here and I will be posting the associated recipes in the days to come. Never have I cooked for a party where I was repeatedly asked for my recipes and the clear winner was my sweet potato dish. The other cleasr winner was my mom's contribution of her famous soy and sesame marinated cucumber pickles.


Oh, and I cannot take credit for the cake.





Comments


bottom of page