top of page

Bonus Recipe: Healthy Microwave Oatmeal



This is a quick and healthy breakfast for one person.


When my doctor told me that I needed to make dietary changes and suggested my eating, not only breakfast, but oatmeal for breakfast as often as possible, it took me a while to adjust the basic recipe to my liking. After all, if one cannot put brown sugar and milk in one's oatmeal - what is the point? But I actually like this, and it is one of the dishes that I will keep in my repertoire once I have stabilized my health and am allowed to reintroduce certain things in moderation. I also have a quick and savory dinner oat dish, my take on Oats Upma, which is quite tasty.


You can make this on the stovetop, of course, but I love the ease of zapping this in the microwave. No stirring, no pan to wash, and no gloppy end result that looks like wallpaper paste.



1/3 cup rolled oats

2/3 cup water

1 organic red apple

Pinch of salt

Pinch of cinnamon

Add-ins of your choice (see below)


Combine the oatmeal, water, cinnamon and salt in a microwave safe dish. Microwave on high for two minutes.


Remove from the microwave and stir. Set aside.


Grate the apple, skin and all, until all that is left is the core. Add the shredded apple to the oatmeal and stir to combine.


I sometimes vary the recipe a little by adding a few extras, though the apple remains a constant as it adds sweetness to the oatmeal. Recent add-ons have included a tablespoon of ground almonds stirred in at the end, some crushed walnuts sprinkled across the top, two teaspoons of flaxseed powder stirred in after the oatmeal has cooked for added fiber, a couple of tablespoons of cooked pumpkin or sweet potato mashed into the mix along with a splash of vanilla - whatever your imagination and pantry can conjure up. You could also substitute powdered cardamom for the cinnamon, and toss in chopped dates or raisins.



Comentarios


bottom of page