top of page

Bonus Recipe: Squash Dip




I wanted a nice spread of appetizers for the same foodie friends for whom I created the Harvest Cheer and, as mentioned in last week's newsletter, planned on making a goat cheese fondue for them as the main attraction. I roasted fingerling potatoes to go with it and also bought a lovely black truffle saucisson from my friendly, neighborhood butcher.


I wasn't thrilled with the fondue so, 10 minutes before our friends arrived, I decided to make something else as well. I had an acorn squash to hand and various "potions" in the fridge so I started with those and ended up with a hit on my hands, which I will be making throughout the fall. I think my friends felt the same way because we devoured the dip and the saucisson, sampled the fondue and ate most of the roast potatoes with my homemade Sriracha sauce which I had brought out for them to taste. Go figure...


Makes about 1 cup of dip. Delicious with multigrain crackers or multigrain tortilla chips.



1 1-1/2 lb acorn squash

2 scallions, finely chopped

1 Tbsp olive oil

2 tsps Sriracha sauce, reular or homemade, or hot sauce

1Tbsp Szechuan chili oil, storebought (Asian food section of the supermarket) or homemade (which you should make as you will use it on everything)

1 tsp chili oil sludge (which is the only word that I can find to describe the layer of spices and peppers that accumulate at the bottom of all chile oil containers, homemade or not)

2 tsps white miso

Juice from 1 lemon

Salt


Jab a knife into the acorn squash to create a rough vent of sorts and microwave for 4 minutes. Turn the squash onto its other side and microwave for an additional 4 minutes. By this time it should be soft to the touch and starting to fall in onto itself.


While the squash is cooking, add all of your other ingredients to a large bowl and whisk to combine.


Remove the squash from the microwave and gingerly cut in half using oven gloves. Scoop out the seeds and then scoop the hot flesh into your bowl. You want the squash to be hot so that it will absorb the flavors of the chili oil spices.


Mash everything together, adjust for seasoning adding more lemon juice and salt if necessary, and transfer to your serving dish. Serve warm.





Comentários


bottom of page