top of page

Cured Egg Yolks - day 1



I couldn't sleep last night so fell down the rabbit hole of YouTube - from excerpts of The Graham Norton Show to weird, wonderful, and sometimes wacky, cooking videos.


One that I watched was a Bon Appetit video about curing egg yolks which stuck with me this morning so I decided to replicate the experiment using my own recipe. I will post various steps as the recipe progresses, and will transcribe the recipe at the very end of this should it prove worthwhile. The image above is step one, before I completely covered the yolks with a mixture of salt, sugar and dried spices.


In my mind, in a week or so, I will be shaving these salt-dried little balls of golden yolk over buttered pasta as I would Bottarga. We shall see...




Comments


bottom of page