top of page

Dinner Party for Old Friends (Recap)



Hmmmm....You win some, you lose some. Everything tasted good tonight but not everything was quite right. That happens to us all at some point when cooking, but I have never had it happen consistently throughout a meal. It was a bit disconcerting.


I will have to rework the dip because, though it tasted great (and would also make a great sandwich spread), the consistency was not quite right. As one of my guests said, while chewing heartily: "the texture is...peculiar". The leeks are a classic dish and I will post that recipe as it makes for a good fall quick appetizer and the new method for jammy eggs that I discovered recently was a revelation. I have made both the fish and the bulgar wheat dish before but my plating skills were off and I did not serve a pretty dinner! I made up for it by cooking the fish perfectly though, if I may say so myself. And last but not least, the apples, which I expected to be really interesting with back notes of floral lavender to enhance their sweetness, were meh...


Still, it was a really nice evening where we all had a lot to say and a good time was had by all. I hesitate to say this on a blog all about food but sometimes that is the most important thing about a dinner party anyway.



Mayan Pumpkin Seed Dip with Tortilla Chips



Leek Ribbons Vinaigrette with Jammy Eggs





Zucchini and Eggplant with Soffrito, Hot Peppers and Mexican Mint



Baked Apples with Lavender Sour Cream





Comments


bottom of page