top of page

Dinner Party (Recap)




Since L. often mentions that I need to work on my presentation, I decided that I would make an extra effort for last night's dinner party. While I did well in terms of thinking out the presentation, execution could have been a bit better - especially where dessert was concerned.


In my mind, this was going to be a thing of beauty - a thick slice of chocolate cake with a core of liquid lavender and white chocolate ganache - but, in real life, my cookie cutter was slightly too big and L.'s enthusiastic assistance left me with split cake oozing ganache onto the plate. Final result looked as though it had been assembled in the dark by chimps. On the up side, flavor-wise I did REALLY well with this dessert which, as we all know, is not my forte.


And the dessert really was a BIG talking point of the evening since the cake overflowed onto the bottom of the oven, burned, set off the fire alarm, and then smoked so badly that, despite all windows being flung open and all fans on deck, we actually had to reassure a neighbor who went lopping down the hallway shouting "fire!".


Such is the life of an inveterate dinner party giver. And this morning the whole house still smells of bonfires.



Guacamole with Tortilla Chips



Green Salad (not photographed)


Miso Crusted Pork Chops 🔁, Carrot PurĂ©e with Sage, Leeks Fondants and a Carrot-Butter Sauce are picture above.



Chocolate Cake 🔁 with White Chocolate-Lavender Ganache, Black Raspberry Ice Cream






Comments


bottom of page