top of page

General Tso's Chicken





L. and I both adore Chinese food, especially dim sum, but take-out (even in NYC) never lives up to our expectations. I have been craving General Tso's Chicken for a while now and, after a whole bunch of Internet research, jettisoned all the recipes I read and went with my own. I knew the flavors I was going for, and I knew I wanted a less sweet version than what the recipes I was reading were dishing up. I came across versions incorporating apricot jam or hoisin sauce, which was not to my taste, as well as a lot of deep fried versions, something that was just not on my register this week.


I liked my version, even if I would never call it authentic, especially since the original dish isn't either - it is firmly in the canon of American-Chinese dishes. Monsieur Le Food Critic In Chief, AKA L., admitted that it tasted like the original though he felt that I had been heavy handed on the garlic. Non-garlic lovers take note and only use a clove.



2 lbs chicken thighs, cut into bite sized pieces

1 egg

2 + 1 Tbsps soy sauce

1 Tbsp white wine

2 Tbsps cornstarch

1/2 tsp granulated sugar

1/2 cup scallions, cut into 1" lengths

5-10 dried chili peppers, broken in half and seeds removed

1 Tbsp grated fresh ginger

2 cloves garlic, grated through a microplane

1 Tbps tomato paste

1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

2 Tbsps vegetable oil


Mix 2 tablespoons of the soy sauce, the sugar and the white wine together in a bowl. Add the chicken pieces. Marinate for 15-30 minutes so that the meat absorbs some of the soy flavor. Stir from time to time.


Roughly drain off the excess marinade. Add the cornstarch to the meat and stir well to combine. Because the chicken pieces are eggy and wet, you will end up with a thin batter-like coating on each chicken piece. I tend to do the mixing by hand as I feel this distributes the cornstarch best but make sure to wash hands exceedingly well after this because you are working with raw chicken.


Heat 1 1/2 tablespoons of the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. As soon as it is sizzling, add the chicken in one layer, or work in batches. I lifted the chicken pieces out of the marinade bowl with tongs and let any excess batter/marinade drip back into the bowl. Cook for a minute or so on each side, so that the chicken is a little crispy on the outside. Remove to a plate and set aside.


Lower the heat under the skillet and add your remaining oil, the scallions and ginger, garlic and chilis. Stir constantly for about 30 seconds to release fragrance. Add the tomato paste, remaining soy sauce and balsamic vinegar to the aromatics, along with 1/3 cup of water. Let bubble away and stir to combine well. Taste and add salt if you feel it is necessary.


Add the chicken back to the pan and cook for 5 minutes more, spooning up the sauce to coat the chicken pieces, until the chicken is cooked through and the cornstarch in the chicken coating has thickened the sauce.


If you liked this, I have also made a version of General Tso's Cauliflower - very different ingredients and instructions but quite delicious in its own right.




Comments


bottom of page