top of page

Hummus with Blistered Tomatoes, Black Radishes, Pickled Ramps



Though the base recipe is fairly authentic, the embellishments are my own and I do apologize if anyone's cultural sensibilities are offended. That being said, considering the preponderance of items passing for hummus in groceries stores today (including a chocolate version that I saw recently), I hope that I may be forgiven. This was both festive and delicious, which is what I was looking for -- this was made for a friend's birthday dinner and, while I was trying to stay within my own dietary boundaries, I was also trying to make him feel fêted at the same time.


You could use canned chickpeas if you wanted to, but dried beans really do add so much to the flavor of this dish that I would recommend them. Also, don't be afraid to paly with proportions -- you may like more tahini and less lemon than I do, for example, of feel that a whole tablespoon of cumin is warranted.


You can skip the garnishes completely if you want to, in which case add the olive oil ito the blender, It is needed for the mouthfeel of the recipe.



2 cups drained well-cooked or canned chickpeas

1/3 cup tahini

1 clove peeled garlic

2 tsps preserved lemon paste or a piece of preserved lemon (optional but yummy)

Juice of 1 lemon

2 tsps ground cumin

2 tsps ground coriander

1 tsp chili flakes or hot paprika

3 Tbsps ice water

Salt to taste (not needed if you use preserved lemon)


Garnishes I used:

1/4 cup olive oil

Chopped coriander leaves

Chopped oven roasted grape tomatoes

Chopped pickled ramps

Cubed black radish marinated in rice wine vinegar and chili oil

A sprinkling of Za'atar

A sprinkling of chili flakes


Add all the ingredients to a blender except for the ice water. Process until as smooth a paste as possible is formed.


With the motor still running, add the ice water in a slow but steady trickle to the blender -- your hummus will become smoother and silkier still.


Scrape into a bowl and serve as is or with your choice of garnishes. I served my version with Jerusalem artichoke chips for health reasons, but pita chips are the way to go.



Comments


bottom of page