top of page

Menu: Week of 02/02/2020



Having written a novel for this week's newsletter which I sent out this morning (time to subscribe those of you who didn't get it), I have very little prose left in me at this point. Also, I have two big kitchen projects that I am tackling today and which I want to get cracking with while others watch the Superbowl. I am attempting Oaxacan Mole Negro because I want to, and making sauerkraut because I am drowning in cabbage. Thank goodness I love it. My friend K, can attest to this. She very kindly took me to lunch this week and she and I plowed through a huge bowl of wok charred cabbage seasoned with about 20 cloves of garlic like nobody's business.


The mole will make an appearance this week but you will have to check back in two weeks' time to see how the sauerkraut fared. I have big plans for it, in the form of a proper Alsatian choucroute garnie, but don't want to count my chickens before they hatch: my first (and last) foray into homemade sauerkraut back in the 1990s was an absolute disaster. More on that in the sauerkraut post that will follow as soon as I have made it.


In the meantime, this Week's CSA box contained:



Herbs: -


Greens: 2 bunches of dandelion greens, a huge head of romaine, a bag of flat leaf spinach


Alliums: 3 sweet onions


Vegetables: 3 Beauregard sweet potatoes, a bag of nubby Jerusalem artichokes, 3 ghostly looking cabbage hearts, a small purple daikon, a Romanesco cauliflower, a bunch of red beets, and a handful of Yukon Gold potatoes


Fruit: -


The contents of this week's box (with the addition of salad greens mid-week and minus whatever shopping my mother does in my CSA box) will be transformed into:



Sunday [“Raid” Meal; fridge, freezer and pantry item dinner]

Dandelion Green Salad with Bacon and Egg Dressing

Easy (Squid Ink) Flatbreads with Parsley Yogurt



Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

Spinach Salad

Poached Chicken with From Scratch Oaxacan Mole Negro



Tuesday [Pasta]

Caesar Salad

Pasta Bolognese



Wednesday [L.'s choice of an item I have made in the past]

BBQ Baby Back Ribs

Oven Fries



Thursday [Fish]

Green Salad

Cod with Anchovies, Capers and Thyme



Friday [Vegetarian]

Green Salad

(+ broiled eel for L. who balked at vegetarian this week)



Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie]

Mixed Salad



Comments


bottom of page