top of page

Menu: Week of 02/16/20



I shouldn't complain, it’s February: it could be snowing. But, though it isn’t, the month so far has been a dud weather-wise, and accordingly, spirit-wise. Despite being very pleased with last week’s sauerkraut experiment which, to use L.'s vernacular, kicked ass, this week’s cooking will not be about fiddly kitchen experiments or long sessions in the kitchen knocking out comfort food. Ignoring the weather, which demands long braises, and in keeping with my snappy mood, all meals will be easy to make and fast to the table.


Of course, I say all meals but actually this week’s menu is a truncated one. L.’s dad is in town and I tend not to plan things when he is around. Either he will take L. out – in which case I will probably have a salad for dinner – or he will offer to cook for us and, since he is a professional Chef, the meal will probably be out of my wheelhouse and a whole laundry list of groceries will need to be purchased. I will also be out a couple of nights this week which further diminishes possible posts.


All this to say, no CSA box this week due to lack of demand, and only a few recipes unless inspiration strikes and bonus recipes line up...I'm thinking of attempting some fabulous baking concoction to challenge my skills and cheer me up. Oh, and the plum blossom buds where I live are just starting to form and I can see a faint pink haze on the trees when I look out my window. Let's all hang in there - spring IS on the way...



Sunday [“Raid” Meal; fridge, freezer and pantry item dinner]

Out



Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

L.’s dad in town – menu planning paused



Tuesday [Pasta]

Out



Wednesday [L.'s choice of an item I have made in the past]

L.’s dad in town – menu planning paused



Thursday [Fish]

Green Salad

Raie Beurre Noisette with Fried Capers

Steamed Potatoes

Sautéed Broccoli Rabe



Friday [Vegetarian]

Cold Sesame Noodles



Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie]

Bacon Cheeseburgers with Homemade Burger Buns

Skillet Fries



* Photo not my own from unsplash



Commentaires


bottom of page