top of page

Menu: Week of 02/23/20



The Farm where I get my CSA box is still on its annual winter hiatus; this week is not only about seasonal produce but also about whatever happened to be on sale (red peppers I’m looking at you). My grocery delivery service sent me the tulips above as a thank you gift for being a dedicated customer and they certainly brightened my February spirits, as did the balmy weather.


Last week’s truncated menu felt rather sad and safe and beige, and in parts tasted that way, so I had the urge to reintroduce brighter, bolder flavors to our meals this week. Hopefully also some pops of bright color which, in turn, should add visual impact to these dishes.


Last but not least, I have been craving pancakes for the past 10 days – never high on my list of things to eat - and only just realized that this upcoming Tuesday is Shrove Tuesday. This craving is weird for me since I do not celebrate “pancake day”, but apparently it is in my culinary DNA and I am rolling with it by attempting the sky high pancakes from Japan which are all over the Internet right now.



Sunday [“Raid” Meal; fridge, freezer and pantry item dinner]

Japanese Souffle Pancakes with Warm Maple Syrup

Crispy Double Thick Bacon

Apple Sauce



Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

Out



Tuesday [Pasta]

Green Salad



Wednesday [L.'s choice of an item I have made in the past]

Green Salad



Thursday [Fish]

Green Salad

“Nauset French Fries” with Old Bay Mayo and Lemon

Steamed Potatoes



Friday [Vegetarian]

Out



Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie]

Crudités

Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas




Comentarios


bottom of page