top of page

Menu: Week of 02/28/21



I have been reading about the environmental impact of food waste recently, from the squandering of massive amounts of resources—seeds, water, energy, land, fertilizer, hours of labor, financial capital, not to mention that the carbon footprint of U.S. food waste is greater than that of the airline industry as a whole. Globally, wasted food accounts for about eight percent of all greenhouse gas emissions certainly something that we should be concerned about in view of the challenges ahead of us all due to climate change.


As those of you who are kind enough to read this weekly newsletter know, food waste is one of my biggest bugbears. I have written a fair amount about how unconscionable it is that more than a third of the food that Americans buy goes from grocery store to fridge, to trash, and yet one in eight adult Americans are going to bed hungry these days (one in six if you add children to the mix), probably more now due to Covid related unemployment.


While it may seem hypocritical to write this before jotting down L. and my nice, cushy menu for the week, I am simply – yet again, I know – sharing with you an issue that really concerns me. I give what I can to my local food pantry and make sure that I plan carefully so as to buy only what we need - - from farms and small companies as much as possible rather than from conglomerates. I also try to use what I have purchased to the fullest effect, though this is a pleasure rather than a chore. I rather enjoy the planning and cooking that go hand in hand with preserving, canning and repurposing, as well as coming up with innovative ways to ensure that I use up everything that I have purchased.


None of these tiny personal steps keeps me from wondering daily how it is that we have gotten it so wrong on a global level. The world produces enough food to feed its entire human population so it is alarming that governments are not doing more to resolve this -- from culinary education programs in school, to a huge revision of the supply chain, with food excesses targeted for poorer communities and food banks in general.


Is this issue something that concerns you and, if so, what are you doing about it that I could implement as well? I would love to hear from you.



This Week's CSA box contained:


Herbs: a bunch each of cilantro, Italian parsley and mint


Greens: a baggie of Romaine lettuce leaves, a bunch of rainbow Swiss chard, and a punnet of tiny wild arugula leaves


Alliums: a huge bunch of scallions, a head of garlic, a handful each of shallots and miniature red onions


Vegetables: red carrots with the fronds still attached, a large eggplant, a bunch of scallions, a brown paper bag of mixed Hedgehog and white mushrooms, a bunch of Hakurei turnips with their leaves, two Covington sweet potatoes, two thick leeks, a lone watermelon radish, a greenhouse red bell pepper, two punnets of Brussels sprouts and six large potatoes


Fruit: four large Pink Lady apples


Remainders: two parsnips, some rosemary and thyme, part of a cabbage which seems to be regenerating in the hydrator no matter how much of it I consume.


So, with the addition of the above remainders and a couple of avocadoes, four grapefruit, a cucumber, and maybe a bunch of the first asparagus of the season which my local farm stall is presently selling for the munificent price of $2 for 10 gorgeous spears (and minus anything used in lunches) these items will be transformed into:



Sunday “Pantry Roulette”; fridge, freezer, and pantry item dinner]

“Bento” Dinner:

Eggplant Grilled with Miso, Topped with Watermelon Radish Oroshi

Arugula Salad with Ginger-Carrot Dressing 🔁

Homemade Bao Buns to stuff with all of the elements above 🔁



Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

(L. is having takeout with his father)



Tuesday [Pasta]



Wednesday [L.'s choice]

Pork Wraps for L. (of which I am heartily sick but which L. has requested every two weeks until he leaves for college, alternating with roast chicken) 🔁



Thursday [Fish]

Baked Rosemary Stuffed Rainbow Trout

Balsamic Roasted Turnips

Barley Grits with Swiss Chard and Brown Butter



Friday [Veggie-centric]

Arugula and Grapefruit Salad



Saturday ["Picnic"; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie]

Proper Burger for L.

“Rainbow” Burger for me

Oven Fries

(Edited March 6 - my mom made a lovely birthday tea so L. and I skipped dinner. Since I had already purchased the ingredients for this, we will be having it on Tuesday of this week instead. Check in then!)






コメント


bottom of page