top of page

Menu: Week of 03/01/20



I am heartily sick of February. I feel about it the way the tulips in the photo above feel about life (though they look like a watercolor to me).


Why is it that the shortest month of the year always feels like the longest? And why do people talk about having the winter "blues"? Personally, I am suffering from a very bad case of the winter "grays" (AKA the blahs). I am sick to the back teeth of gray skies and cold and semi-hibernation. I am a dedicated homebody introvert and even I am fed up with being indoors. To make matters worse, my CSA box farm is still on winter hiatus. I truly look forward to their coming back, to starting my Saturday morning CSA box opening ritual with the cats again, and to seeing my favorite farmers’ market stand owners again in a few weeks.


Last week was also a bit of a bust cooking-wise. My soufflé pancakes failed and were a soggy mess. I will attempt them again in the near future as I hate to be beaten by a recipe since I so rarely use them. My delivery grocery had sprats, so I was very excited to make “Nauset Fries” but they ran out before my order arrived and we had tilapia instead. Sigh. I was really happy with my Slow Roasted Chicken Thighs with Lentils, Chorizo and Red Pepper Romesco but L. somehow went to sleep in between my telling him that I was off to make dinner and my appearing to say that dinner was ready and declined to be awoken to sample my dish which slightly dampened my enthusiasm, but not my appetite. (He made up for it with a hearty breakfast the next morning though). And last but not least, having been quite excited by Saturday’s quesadillas when the menu was first conceived, he turned “agin em” on Saturday evening and hit his dad up for cash for takeout. I had soup from the freezer and, yes, some of L.'s fries. There is therefore a paucity of posts this week, though the recipes added to the blog are good ones.


Hopefully this week will work out better in terms of recipe sharing, despite several evenings out as we are celebrating birthday week.



Sunday [“Raid” Meal; fridge, freezer and pantry item dinner]



Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

Veal Chop with Tonnato Sauce (of sorts) 🔁

Pan-Roasted Hakurei Turnips and Turnip Greens



Tuesday [Pasta]

Out



Wednesday [L.'s choice of an item I have made in the past]

Green Salad

Roasted Parsnips

Couscous with Chopped Greens



Thursday [Fish]

Avocado Salad

Warm Wheat Berry and Beet Salad



Friday [Vegetarian]

Out



Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie]

Chopped Salad

Pasta Puttanesca




Comments


bottom of page