top of page

Menu: Week of 03/08/20



Behold the joys of a full refrigerator condiment door, something that makes me happy every time I open the fridge. Like so much else that occurs during the course of one's day, it is the little things in life etc.


The next few weeks are the time of the year when menus go slightly wonky and schizophrenic, just like the weather: new spring asparagus one day, winter squash the next. We are seeing out the season of the root (thank you for your service) but the excitement of spring vegetables is not quite upon us yet, though I did see my first fiddleheads of the season yesterday in a market stall. Yeehaw!


I recently realized that this winter I did not make baked beans from scratch. Typically, once a year, I haul my ceramic bean pot from the back of the cupboard where the rest of the year it takes up more room than it should, whip up my recipe for Boston baked beans, and spend the afternoon enjoying how delicious it makes the house smell as it cooks. I usually make a vat of the stuff and keep a whole bunch in the freezer for lunches and midnight snacks of beans on toast or beans with poached egg on top. Though this is a winter snow day tradition, as mentioned above we are on the cusp of the seasons (and Saint Patrick’s Day is right around the corner), so I am getting this nod to my Irish side made just under the gun. I will not be making a vat this year as for me baked beans read very much as a winter dish, though some will be transported to my mother’s house for her freezer!




Sunday [“Raid” Meal; fridge, freezer and pantry item dinner]

Asian Pork Burgers on Toast 🔁



Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

Mixed Salad

“Cock-a-leekie” Pie



Tuesday [Pasta]

Green Salad

Creamy Meyer Lemon Pasta with Roasted Spring Asparagus



Wednesday [often L.'s choice of an item I have made in the past but this week it is a newbie recipe idea]

Out



Thursday [Fish]

Green Salad

Roasted Acorn Squash

Vegetable Couscous



Friday [Vegetarian]

Black Bean Burritos with all the trimmings



Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie]

For the Irish in me, a sort of St. Patrick’s Day breakfast for dinner:

Boxty

Crispy Double Smoked Slab Bacon

Proper Baked Beans

Grilled Mushrooms

Irish Soda Bread

Edited on 3/12/20 - I am going out. Beans and Boxty will reappear in the weeks to come!


Comments


bottom of page