top of page

Menu: Week of 03/15/20



Though this is usually a menu with a few paragraphs of introductory chit chat, it felt strange not to address the elephant in the room and my writing took a slightly different direction than originally planned.


Besides toilet paper, it is rather strange what items are missing in stores due to our current volatile health situation. I was due to cater a dinner party and neither phyllo dough nor chocolate chips seem to be available for purchase which are among the last items that I would think would run out. Also, while pinto beans and dried kidney beans are available on shelves everywhere, there seems to have been a run on lentils for the moment. I find all of this surprisingly interesting. No, I don’t know why.


I have received so many emails about the virus and keep on reading so much conflicting news about it that I am hitting information overload. As of this morning I am cutting my news intake down to twice a day and not before bedtime and am setting my timer to five minutes when speaking of the virus with friends and family. Enough already! L. and I are obviously taking every precaution possible, but dinner still comes around every day and now, with the possibility of L. being home from school for a while, lunch needs to be planned for too!


My daily modus operandi has evolved into: “eat properly, don’t drink too much, drink lots of water, wash hands a lot more, disinfect light switches, doorknobs and phones every time the thought crosses my mind, and keep my sense of humor”. It is something all of us can do.


Stay safe, and remember to enjoy the spring as much as you can.




Sunday [“Raid” Meal; fridge, freezer and pantry item dinner]

Out



Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

Mixed Dinner Salad

Moroccan Freekeh Pilaf



Tuesday [Pasta]

Green Salad

Caramelized Cabbage Pasta for Saint Patrick's Day



Wednesday [L.'s choice of an item I have made in the past]

Mixed Salad with Nuoc Cham Dressing

Vietnamese Inspired Bone-In Pork Chops

Snow Peas with Shiitake

Steamed Rice



Thursday [Fish]

Sliced Tomato Salad

Salt Crust Baked Whole Branzino with Yuzu Kosho Hollandaise

Asparagus and Fiddlehead Fern Sauté

Crispy Potatoes



Friday [Vegetarian]



Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie]

Out




Comments


bottom of page