top of page

Menu: Week of 04/12/20



A reminder to all - last week, many of the recipes were repeat recipes so you can find them by clicking on last week's menu post and checking out the links therein. And since, contrary to many who have upped the dinner ante during self-isolation, I don't think I could cook more than I already do, I have been working on my presentation and photography and have posted some truly delicious looking dishes on Instagram (if I say so myself). I am particularly happy with my Peking duck photos.


On another note, while I am not of a religious bent, considering their back stories, it does feel oddly appropriate that Lent and Easter/Passover are the holidays that are occurring while we all hunker down and wait to be let back into the outside world. We have collectively given up a heck of a lot for Lent and have no idea what kind of resurrection/new world order will be waiting for us when this is over.


In the meantime, like everyone else, I have been disinfecting and cleaning and hand washing even more than usual. The only upside to this is that my hydrator drawers, with the veggies unwrapped and washed, are quite pretty to look at each time I open them. I will also remember lockdown as the time when I discovered that the smell of bleach makes one of the cats ecstatic in the same way the other cat reacts to catnip, to the point of drooling with happiness.



Sunday [“Raid” Meal; fridge, freezer and pantry item dinner]

Smoky Beet Salad with Humboldt Fog Dressing

Steamed Fiddlehead Ferns with Butter

Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

Baby Watercress Salad with Cucumber Dressing

Polenta

Tuesday [Pasta]

Roasted Cherry Tomato Caprese

“Pasta Ends” with Creamy Spinach and Scallion Sauce, Parmesan Crisp

Wednesday [L.'s choice of an item I have made in the past]

Asian Vegetable Stir Fry

Steamed Rice

Thursday [Fish]

Mixed Salad

Pan Seared Trout with Prosciutto and Chili-Garlic Oil

Steamed Lacinato Kale

Roasted Creamer Potatoes

Friday [Veggie-centric]

Green Salad

Vegetable Enchiladas with Homemade Mole 🔁

Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie]

Dashi Based Spring Pea Soup with Basil Oil

Grilled Cheese Sandwiches





Comments


bottom of page