top of page

Menu: Week of 04/26/20



Exciting news (at least for me).


My CSA box is available again (supply chain willing, long may this last). Kalustyan’s, which those of you who read this blog know holds a near sacred special place in my heart, has reopened with limited hours. Last but not least, my favorite flatbread recipe, which I thought I had lost in 2012 during a house fire, and which I have been unsuccessfully trying to recreate since then, fluttered out of the pages of a book as I was Kondo-ing my bookcases. Yes, I both made and posted it.


While things are certainly not right with the world, in fact it seems to be going down the toilet more and more every day, these events introduced a little sunshine into my week. This evening I plan on raising my restorative bleach and Tide pod cocktail (…sigh….) to cheer these small but happy tidings that remind me to stop, rewind, and be very grateful for what I have.


I found out about the CSA box after I had already placed a produce order (blackberries, lemons, baby spinach, baby watercress, beefsteak tomatoes, broccoli, red peppers, basil, avocadoes, shiitake mushrooms, baby Bella mushrooms and russet potatoes), so this week’s menu will be all about inserting my glut of mostly green leafy vegetables from the CSA box into as many dishes and salads as possible. Green smoothie for lunch, anyone? In that case, better put on my mask and go buy grapes at the corner deli. I have limes.




This Week's CSA box contained:


Herbs: -


Greens: a bunch of red chard, a beautiful bunch of dandelion greens, a huge bunch of green romaine, 3 little gem lettuces, 2 enormous baby bok choy


Alliums: 2 leek-sized stems of green garlic, roots intact, a bunch of white scallions


Vegetables: a bunch of cheerful red radishes with greens intact, 3 hot house tomatoes, a bunch of carrots


Fruit: -


The contents of this week's box (and the items mentioned above) will be transformed into:



Sunday “Pantry Roulette” {fridge, freezer and pantry item dinner]

Spinach Salad



Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

Tomato Salad with Ponzu Dressing

Steamed Rice



Tuesday [Pasta]

Dandelion Green Salad

My Grandmother’s Piroghis with Sauerkraut



Wednesday [L.'s choice

Green Salad

Vegetable Couscous



Thursday [Fish]

Mixed Salad

Scallops with Nori Brown Butter

Steamed Broccoli

Wheat Berry Pilaf



Friday [Veggie-centric]

Beef and Mushroom Hand Pies (I am finally attempting a rough puff pastry)

with Pickled Dried Shiitake



Saturday ["Picnic"; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie]

Mixed Salad

Black Truffle Cheddar Mac and Cheese 🔁







Comments


bottom of page